Gallery

Arwen

Arwen1Arwen2Arwen3Arwen4

I painted Arwen over the course of a week as a fairly last minute third entry for Golden Demon 2017. I couldn’t go without trying to defend my LotR/Hobbit title from last year!

I had wanted to paint Thranduil, King of Mirkwood but sadly received a poor copy (curse you, finecast!) so had to pull Arwen (in metal) off the subs bench.

Not much to say about this one really. I do enjoy the simplicity of the Lord of the Rings miniatures and they always present a challenge due to their diminutive stature.

I’m quite happy with the freehands that I pulled off in a very small space. I’ve added a bit of texturing to the purple robe and the ochre streamer things. I wanted to try and capture the lustrous quality that Arwen has in the movies, so I elected to go with a very pale base coat for the face (almost white) and then added shading and colour gradually. I’m reasonably happy with the end result but it’s not an approach I’d normally use!

Arwen comes in a dual pack, so I will have to paint the mounted version at some point!

6 thoughts on “Arwen

Leave a Reply

