Gallery

Blood Angels Terminator Librarian

BA_lib_final2BA_lib_final1BA_lib_final3BA_lib_final4BA_lib_final5BA_lib_final6

The librarian is now finished! Since the last update I painted the axe, went back and touched up the armour (particularly some of the transitions on the red shoulder pads that I wasn’t happy with), painted the gems and spent a little more time working on his face. Oh, and the base. šŸ˜‰

For the force axe I base coatedĀ with black and then applied areaĀ highlights in two stagesĀ using a mix of turquoise and white (about 1:1 and then with more white added). I then painted on the lightning using a brush with a good point and applied some glazes here and there until it looked right. Unusually for me I didn’t use the maximum colour saturation (unmixed turquoise) at any point. The miniature is already pretty colourful and I didn’t want to overdo it.

BA_lib_axe

I’ve glazed some more purple and blue tones into the shadows on the face, as I wanted to convey that this guy isn’tĀ super healthy and the psychic ability is taking a toll on him. I’ve painted some veins around the temples to emphasise thisĀ too. For some reason I’ve struggled to get the mouth looking right on this miniature – in the endĀ this was the best I could do!

BA_lib_face2

I thought long and hard about adding some damage to the armour. Having spent the time getting to a point of shiny perfection I find it very difficult to then do something that will detract from this, and I’ve bottled out of doing it in the past. On this occasion IĀ came to the conclusionĀ that damaged armour would suit the somewhat stressed-lookingĀ face better than a factory fresh suit, so I took a deep breath and plunged in! Here’s a picture of how he looked before:

balib1

I’m happy with my decision and it was good to push myself out of my comfort zone. That’s two new things on this piece, since I had never attempted textured freehand before either. šŸ™‚

BA_lib_robe2

I built the base out of ureol modelling board, plasticard and a couple of brass etch pieces from forgeworld.Ā It’s quite simple, but that is very much my style – I’m still having headaches over the high elf sea base at the moment too, and I couldn’t handle having two difficult basing projects on my plate!

Overall I very much enjoyed this project. It’s a great sculpt by Ed Cottrell for the best space marines chapter šŸ˜‰ and hopefully I’ve done it justice!

You can find earlier work in progress here:

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

6 thoughts on “Blood Angels Terminator Librarian

Leave a Reply

