Gallery

Infernal summoner

ES1ES2ES3ES4ES5ES6

When I started sculpting my 15 mm guys, I was envisaging a little game involving the four heroes against various classic fantasy baddies that could be played on a coffee table. The idea was that these would be brought into being by an arch villain: the summoner.

As often happens I lost my way with that project, although I do have various evil henchmen sitting around waiting for a bit of paint. I’ll get round to that eventually, but since I have actually painted the head honcho himself I thought it was worth sharing.

With this miniature I wanted to convey the impression that he is mid-summon, floating above the ground wreathed in infernal flames. I do have a nagging feeling that he might look more like he’s being immolated, but there’s not much I can do about that now!

I decided to paint some object source lighting on this piece, as I thought it would help sell the flame effect. I’m not generally a big fan of OSL as I find it often seems to photograph better than it looks in the hand. But I’m reasonably pleased with the result here – especially on the metallic bits around his waist. I suppose I could photograph him against a darker background to make it look better in the pictures.

I’ll make him available on my shapeways shop soon…

A couple of gratuitous shots for scale:

ES_handES_pencil

Colours used as follows:

Armour

Basecoat: khorne red

Highlight: squig orange and white

Shade: Add black to khorne red

Glaze with evil sunz scarlet and khorne red

NMM bronze

Basecoat: 1:1 dark flesh and vermin brown

Highlight: 1:1 orange brown and creamy ivory, add more creamy ivory

Shade: rhinox hide, black

Flame

Basecoat white, build up colours with flash gitz yellow, trollslayer orange, evil sunz scarlet, black

One thought on “Infernal summoner

Leave a Reply

