Gallery

Skeletons

Skeletons1Skeletons2Skeletons3Skeletons4More of the 15 mm miniatures I’ve sculpted for myself – some baddies this time! There is a vague plan to play some games with these when I’ve got enough of them. I’m thinking something like Song of Blades and Heroes or maybe Open Combat (although I don’t believe this covers fantasy particularly well at the moment). But I will also need to sort out some terrain before then.

I sculpted the skeleton with the scythe first (an obvious nod to Heroquest) and after a successful test print I created the other four. It was here that one of the big advantages of digital sculpting became apparent, as it was a simple matter to just rearrange the parts I’d already made. Apart from modifying the skulls (a few missing teeth, a big hole in one of them) I just had to make some new equipment and call it done.

I abandoned any thoughts of getting miniatures cast in the interval between the ‘Heroquest’ skeleton and the others, so it freed me up to pose them however I liked. I’m really pleased with the arrows on the two skeletons with bows. The shafts are right on the design limit for thickness in Shapeways B-HDA material so I was a bit concerned about how they’d print but they came out great.

I’ve made a decision to use non metallic metal throughout all my 15 mm miniatures but I avoided the super shiny look here and tried to make the weapons look a bit more weathered. Very quick to paint these though – I got all 5 done in a single day which is unheard of for me!

 

Colours used:

Bone

Basecoat: yellowed bone (reaper), wash with agrax earthshade (gw)

Shade deepest recesses with rhinox hide (gw) and black

Highlight with creamy ivory (reaper) and white

Metal

Basecoat: cloudy grey (reaper)

Highlight: 1:1 rainy grey (reaper)/white with a touch of temple guard blue (gw), then add more white up to pure white

Shade: cloudy grey and dark flesh (gw), add black

Wood

Basecoat: khemri brown (gw)

Wash with desert yellow (gw) and black mix, deepest recesses with thinned black

Highlight with kommando khaki (gw) then creamy ivory (reaper)

Leave a Reply

